Skip to content

When Life Gives You Lemons, Make Lemon Flavoured Cupcakes!

April 18, 2012

Yesterday I spent the earlier part of my afternoon in search of new blogs to read which is exactly when I came across A Gastronome’s Closet  and her Double Lemon Cupcake recipe. I have been meaning to try out a lemon cupcake recipe for quite some time now, and this blog gave me the inspiration to do so (Thank you for the inspiration fellow blogger!)! If you love lemon-flavoured-anything then you will understand the longing that I had for the cupcakes when I saw the pictures that were posted on her blog. So without further ado let’s get on with the recipe!

Lemon Butterfly Cupcakes

*Recipe taken from ‘The Cupcake: Life’s Better With a Cupcake”*

You will need:

– scant 1 cup self-rising flour

– 1/2 tsp baking powder

– 1/2 cup butter, softened

– generous 1/2 cup superfine sugar

– finely grated rind of 1/2 lemon

– 2 tbsp milk

– 1 1/2 tsp lemon juice (this was my own addition)

Frosting
– 2/3 cup cream cheese

– 6 tbsp unsalted butter

– 2 1/4 cups icing sugar

– 2 tbsp lemon juice

  1. Place the cream cheese and butter in a bowl and blend together with a spatula. (I usually use an electric mixer for this part)
  2. Sift in the icing sugar and beat until smooth and creamy.

*Preheat oven to 375°f/190°c. This recipe called for 12 cupcakes – I like to make mine puffy and large and it turned out to be enough for 8.*

I like to organize my main ingredients out on the counter prior to starting so that I am not scrambling to figure out where all of the ingredients are – saves lots of time!

Sift the flour and baking powder into a large bowl.

Add the butter, superfine sugar, lemon rind, milk, and lemon juice into a mixing bowl. Gradually add each egg into the bowl beating it lightly. Add in the flour and baking powder in two additions and beat together until smooth.

Voila! You have your batter!

Spoon the batter into the paper liners. I like to use an ice cream scoop, it allows the batter to completely come out of the scoop without any additional scraping. Now plop these lovely things into the oven and bake for 15-20 mins, or until risen, golden and firm to touch.

I think they’re ready! Transfer them to a cooling rack and allow them to cool completely prior to decorating.

I’m a sucker for cream cheese frosting on any kind of cupcake, and that’s exactly the kind that I decided to do. The recipe in the book included buttercream icing, but I opted for the other one! Enjoy the finished product.

Drool….

Do you guys like lemons as much as I do? Try the recipe out and let me know what you think of it!

Happy Baking!

Iris

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2012 13:10

    Yours look amazing!!! I love how your icing looks =D

  2. April 18, 2012 15:39

    Looks sooo delicious!! I cannot wait to try these when I have an occasion 🙂

  3. April 25, 2012 13:19

    omg why do these look so good?!?! Why are you trying to sabotage my diet?!?!

Leave a Reply

